Dienstag, 15. Juli 2008

Up and Away

Helsinki Vantaa - Järvenpää


Here we go!

After spending only one whole day at home (I've been to Sazburg for one week) before going to Finland, I was quite excited: Do I have all I need? We'll see...

However, at the airport of Vienna the check-in was very exhausting. The airport is a giant organism: everyone has his task, everyone knows his task, has some little other with whom to collaborate. The whole beeing works, even without knowing how it works exactly. You could say: Left hand doesn't know what right hand does.
The problem is only, that the airport is a beeing with hundreds of hands, all not knowing what are doing the others... So when I asked how to proceed to check-in my bike I got 5 diffrent information from 5 diffrent persons.

In the airplane I was very relaxed: my bike entered the plane at the same time as I did (I saw it!) and after all these preparations in nearly no time (I bought my shoes with which I've been travelling only one day before!) it was very nice just to sit and look out of the window.

At the airport of Helsinki the first thing I had to do was putting together my bike, as I took off the wheels for transport. People were looking at my quite strangely...

Very euphoric I left the Airport: Sun was shining bright, some clouds, not for raining, just for looking nice in the blue sky where there, wind came from the back, a whole new adventure has started! My tent, my bike and I alone in Finland! Yippie!

And the next fine thing I discovered were the cycle path all along the street! Enthusiastic as I was, I was driving with a speed of 30 km/h, the cars next to me were allowed only to go 60 km/h, so great, I'm driving at half of speed of cars! Yeah!

In all this enthusiasm I just had one problem: I still was not used to the finnish streetmaps. I CAN read maps, though I missed the streets I wanted to take. Didn't matter, it was just sooooo nice to go around over there! Eventought driving along a quite big road you could smell the woods and the rape (deutsch: Raps)!

So, missing one street after the other, going along the lake on the wrong side (so I had to go down on the other side for some kilometers to reach the camping site), I reached Järvenpää in the evening. Direct line distance to airport were 16 kilometers... however, I did 50 kilometers in the first day.

Sun will go down at 22.30 right over the lake. 22.30!!! And it was not dark all the night! great! I love finnish summer! No wind, no moquitoes, I laid in my tent, the "door" wide open, to fall asleep... Beautiful! couldn't this happen more often?

On this first day I was absolutly satisfied and happy. I'm ready for the next morning to come.


Click on pictures to enlarge and follow the links! I have only 3 MB for blogging, so I have to save space... ;o)


my bike! I hope it will reach finland without damage

Click: a bear! I hope it will be the only one that I meet here...

Finnland0014
these are finlands cycle pathes! ... at least in the south...

Finnland0019
aren't those colors beautiful?

Click: at the camping: trees look like broccoli...
Click: For the first time sleeping in my tent... courageous or thoughtless?

Finnland0029
hach...
Click: the view right out of my tent... not so nice, but still ok

As-salâmu 'alaikum

koerndl around the world

Adventure Marokko (2010)

As usual during summer I'm leaving for some adventures, this year I hope to find them in Marocco. With 3 friends and a LandRover I'm exploring once more a different culture. Leave with us!

Adventure China (2009)

This summer, one country, but some more time, some more km... once more, my bike, my tent and I, we are going to live and travel faaaaar way from home. Follow me ;)

Adventure Finland (2008)

In this summer I don't intended nothing else but going by bike from Helsinki to Northcape. In case of me having some Internet there might be some news.

Last Updates

Moving to...
As I don't have enough space for blogging on here (3...
koerndl - 2. Jul, 15:34
Up and Away
Helsinki Vantaa - Järvenpää Here we go! After spending...
koerndl - 25. Feb, 10:34
Lots of Lakes
Asikkala - Korpilahti ~130 km I got up early this...
koerndl - 25. Feb, 10:33
Trapped in Tikkakoski
Korpilahti - Äänekoski ~100 km After my experience...
koerndl - 25. Feb, 10:32

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Suche

 

Status

Online seit 5767 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 24. Aug, 02:00

Credits


CHINA-Miscellaneous
CHINA-On Tour
FIN-Diary
FIN-Greets while traveling
FIN-Miscellaneous
MAROC-Prepa
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren