Sonntag, 10. August 2008

Beeing Adopted

Manamansalo - Iisalmi ~ 130 km


For the first time for a long while sun was shining for breakfast! I got up at 8.30 and started at 10.30.

There was bright sunshine, wind and heavy rain, the weather let me try all varieties it can offer in this day. At Vuolijoki little shopstop (I'm looking forward to my fridge sometimes, for not have to go shopping every day...), lunch was about 50 km later (at km 80-90), because of the rain, and because of a friendly man, who adopted me on street for some kilometers: he was going with his racing bicycle, and offered me his splitstream (? Windschatten) without words. He just went right in front of me and took a little care of me. Nice... But as he was cycling only 2-3 days, he had much less luggage, and with his racing bike he had a little advantage. So it was impossible for me following him. What a pity...

However, before I reached Sukeva I had lunch on a very small road parallel to the main road. There was shadow in the wood (of course...) and as it was quite fresh, I was looking for a place to have lunch in the sun. And I found it: It was right in the middle of the street... So I just stopped and sat down... not in the middle of the street, but just on the road. And for this half an hour there wasn't passing one car...

I wanted to stay at one of two campsites right behind Sukeva. But I didn't. Once more I changed my plans. As I couldn't decide which one I should take, I carried on with cycling - until Iisalmi, 35 additional km.

And it was over there at Iisalmi, where I found some more straw- and raspberries... So: Stop obligatory... Isn't there any sticker for my bike: "Will brake for berries!" ?

The campsite was quite big, and quite strange, once more. It was at the same time an exhibition place for wooden sculptures. They were placed all over the campsite. It was at the riversite, and this time I placed my tent in the way, that tomorrow the sun could wake me up, shining onto/into my tent.

In the evening (LATE in the evening... about 10.00 pm) I started cooking. People were looking at me quite strange... However, while cooking I recharged my battery for the camera. After cooking, eating, washing the dishes, it needed some more time for charging... So, what could I do? I just wrote my diary before while having a coffe and re-warming myself at the Cafè at the reception. As I nearly didn't have any chocolate today, I just decided to make a Choco-Fondue, right for passing time. I cut a banana, an orange and some dried plums, melted the chocolate an ... mmmmhhh! ... and got to bed only at... 1am?

Finally I made my plans, when to take the train to go back to Helsinki. Tomorrow will be the last day travelling with my bike. Wow. A little bit I was also sad, but as I wanted to stay some days at Helsinki, there was no other possibility.

I can still remember moments (while going in direction Northcape) in which I was thinking about what to do after having reached the aim. I remember thoughts like "I will be so glad, if I don't have to sit on my bike for some days". I remember thoughts about going back to Helsinki directly and then travelling with train. I never thought, I would love so much going by bike. And after all, I think I'm going to miss my bike in the next few days...


Finnland0853
having lunch in the middle of the road

Finnland0854
typical landscape in the south of Finland

Click: njam...

(PS: Photos, somehow, are now always quite the same as I just showed you some. Therefore there are always so few pictures in the last days...)

As-salâmu 'alaikum

koerndl around the world

Adventure Marokko (2010)

As usual during summer I'm leaving for some adventures, this year I hope to find them in Marocco. With 3 friends and a LandRover I'm exploring once more a different culture. Leave with us!

Adventure China (2009)

This summer, one country, but some more time, some more km... once more, my bike, my tent and I, we are going to live and travel faaaaar way from home. Follow me ;)

Adventure Finland (2008)

In this summer I don't intended nothing else but going by bike from Helsinki to Northcape. In case of me having some Internet there might be some news.

Last Updates

Moving to...
As I don't have enough space for blogging on here (3...
koerndl - 2. Jul, 15:34
Up and Away
Helsinki Vantaa - Järvenpää Here we go! After spending...
koerndl - 25. Feb, 10:34
Lots of Lakes
Asikkala - Korpilahti ~130 km I got up early this...
koerndl - 25. Feb, 10:33
Trapped in Tikkakoski
Korpilahti - Äänekoski ~100 km After my experience...
koerndl - 25. Feb, 10:32

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Suche

 

Status

Online seit 5782 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 24. Aug, 02:00

Credits


CHINA-Miscellaneous
CHINA-On Tour
FIN-Diary
FIN-Greets while traveling
FIN-Miscellaneous
MAROC-Prepa
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren